Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Mauritius Prison Service (under the aegis of the Prime Minister's Office)

Our Staff

The Mauritius Prisons Service is staffed by Prison Officers including Hospital Personnel and Manual Workers, General Service Staff and Officers seconded from Ministries.  At June 2019, the staff consisted of:

​​Staff            ​​                                     No.
Prison Staff                          ​             1261
General Service Staff                          62
​Civilian Workers                                  75
​Hospital Staff                                       46
​Prison Welfare Staff                           ​ 18
Total                                                  1462

The Prisons Service consists of Senior Management Officers and Junior Staffs.  The Senior Management Officers range from the rank of Commissioner to Assistant Superintendent of Prisons and that of the Junior Staffs from the grade of Principal Prisons Officer to Prisons Officer/Senior Prisons Officer. The hierarchy is, therefore, viz 

GRADE                                                                NAME
Commissioner of Prisons                                        Mr K. M. Nobin 
​Deputy Commissioner of Prisons                            Mr J. Rungadoo
​Deputy Commissioner of Prisons                            Mr R. Rughoobeer 
Deputy Commissioner of Prisons                            Mr V. Hanumunthadhu
​​Deputy Commissioner of Prisons                            Mrs G. Aubeeluck​
A​ssistant Commissioner of Prisons                  ​       Mr R. Lugun
Assistant Commissioner of Prisons​                         Mr J. Padaruth
Assistant Commissioner of Prisons​                         Mr J. L. Paul
​Assistant Commissioner of Prisons                         Mr N .N. P. Naiken
​Assistant Commissioner of Prisons​                         M​r P. Dauhoo
​Assistant Commissioner of Prisons                         Mr F. Heetun
​Woman Assistant Commissioner of Prisons​            M​rs M. A. Nelson

Schedule of Shifts
The prisons staff is deployed in the following shifts:
Night Shift
Trade Shift
Office Hours
06.30 to 13.30
12.00 to 18.30
18.00 to 07.00 07.30 to 15.30
08.00 to 16.00